“I don’t want to leave this weekend.”

I clasped my hand over my mouth after the words came spilling out.

“Shhh, don’t tell anyone I just said that.”

After many consecutive on-the-go kind of weekends, I actually wanted to stay put for a change. Be here, in the country, in the mountains and especially in one spot with no plans. And in my long continuous list of “never say never,” I stood there admitting that I didn’t want to leave. Ha.

There are many things to love about the spring in the country. And this is one of them…

The most gorgeous spring sunset in Elizaville, NY on the way to a birthday dinner party. I actually had to pullover, stop the car and take this picture. The weather was just warm enough to be outside with a light jacket. The company was wonderful, celebrating a dear friend’s 40th and the landscape and farmhouse setting was heavenly.

And another…

BASEBALL! Here are the Dutchess County Cardinals. We went to see my friend pitch Saturday morning. It was a gorgeous day. He started and we had a picnic in the grass. What could be better? I heart baseball and the fact that all of these grown men do, too.

And this…

Avocado poundcake with fresh fruit. A light, airy dessert after a yummy meal. This poundcake dumped with mango, kiwi and pineapple was a colorful and hopeful as spring.

I realize I could have been sitting in the city right now, writing a very similar post about the love affair I have with walking the sidewalks, smelling streetmeat and spotting the latest trends in sundresses. I also realize I’m okay with this post. This love affair. For the time being anyway.

