This year has been INSANE. I don’t know how else to explain it. There are no words that could explain what happens when you take your life, dumb it upside down and inside out, move from the city to the country, start a new job, make new friends, make mistakes, travel, make things happen and lose yourself in an evolution of major change.

It is the time of year that we are faced with Yom Kippur. Since I already celebrated my one-year in the country, I feel that this is another anniversary of sorts. Marked by the year passing, what has transpired and what will be. By definition Yom Kippur is known as the Day of Atonement, one of the holiest days of the year. Its central themes are atonement and repentance. The holiday is observed by fasting and going to services. It also concludes the High Holy Days, the Days of Awe.

Appropriately, I will be dividing myself between the country and the city. Attending services the first night at the Woodstock Jewish Congregation (Kehillat Lev Shalem) with my wonderful extended family and then the next day I will go to services with my immediate family at Romemu. Having multiple places to worship is an interesting concept. To think it was not that long ago that people had to hide their religious preferences. And not too long before that when people were not allowed to even have a preference.

We have been throwing around the phrase “clean slate” around lately. Not sure I really want to start over though. I was thinking that I would like to continue this year with perhaps a lil more jazz. A lil more funk. And a lil more adventure. After all, it is the adventures that bring the greatest moments of discovery. I will not wish for anything though. Instead I am going to just ride the wave, pray for easy bumps and more time in between should I must have one.

May we all have the opportunity to start over whenever we like. Whether it be a designated holiday or when you know you have to.

Children bowing the shofar to ring in the New Year.

