After much hemming and hawing, for reasons unreasonable to some, I got over it. Here  is Thea Sphere Sweets.

And this is a sample of what I make over at Thea Sphere Sweets:

Ever play the game “Never have I ever?”

That is how my latest project has come to be. Never would I ever have been able to shape my cooking and baking craft if I hadn’t moved to the country, found a roommate, rented the most colorful house in all the land and spent many of a night in the red and orange kitchen. Yes, the walls are prison orange and the cabinets are cherry red. I wouldn’t have it any other way, even if I had gotten to pick the wall color myself. So for the last two years, I have made cakes, cheesecakes, cookies and cupcakes for every holiday, birthday, sappy Friday, snowday and BBQ in and around the Hudson Valley. The confections made their way to Syracuse, the city, Long Island and New Jersey. And where ever the treats went I heard, “why don’t you sell these?” I had two, in my humble opinion reasons why not to make baking more than just a middle of the night de-stresser.

1. I love to watch people at food I have made. If I were to sell baked goods how would I ever go to every single order’s home and see them eat the confection I created.

2. People who cook for a living often end up hating it. And that I can not and will not have. Baking (and cooking in general) is the only thing that stops my eye twitch. I have a stress eye twitch that come from work, car and personal stress. It’s the right eye above and sometime below the lid. It makes me batty. So why would I risk not enjoying the one remedy I have?

Alas, I broke down and ordered business cards.

And I made this page.

And then I bought labels.

And now I am planning an open house for 11.11.11 to showcase what is available for the holiday season.

In the midst of baking and cooking in the country, friends and family have pushed me in the direction of making it official. And although I am not ready for that, I can do the local thing and bring baked goodness to the ones I love (and the ones they love). Thank you for the push [read shove] to the next step.

“Like” away at www.facebook.com/theaspheresweets and you can check out all of the amazing baked goods that I have come up with in the last year or so. Phew. I’m glad that’s out.

“One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating.”  ~ Luciano Pavarotti 

